Skip to content
Tags

parkrun New Year’s Day double 2014

Tue 31st December 2013

In trying to decide where it would be possible to do a New Year’s Day parkrun double this year, I made a image of the parkruns around London and what times they were on New Year’s Day. Then I tried to save it (I was editing in Mac’s Preview app) and it deleted half the image. That, combined with the fact that it only served London, I thought I was automate this a bit.

I wrote some code that takes the information on the Christmas CompendiumΒ and based on each parkrun’s location, works out whether it’s feasible to get from one to the other. The output of that script is here:

parkrun double NYD 2014

If this is useful to you, or you think there’s a possible double missing, or you have any other feedback, please comment below πŸ™‚

From → parkrun, Running

13 Comments
  1. This is great – will you be doing the same for NYD 2015? πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Charlie! I do plan to do the same for NYD2015. Some of the events have already updated the Christmas Compendium, so I’ll generate some updates to the Double Finder in the coming weeks.

      • I’ve just seen the new 2015 version – awesome job! Thanks for your efforts. πŸ™‚

      • You’re welcome! Remember to check back, I’ll update it occasionally to include new NYD parkruns πŸ™‚

  2. New Years Day 2015 parkrun double finder

    Ask and you shall receive! I’ve run an update today, I’ll repeat it occasionally between now and NYD, so keep checking back if you can’t find one πŸ™‚

  3. What a great resource, thank you. Chipping Sodbury at 9.00 leads to a South Gloucestershire double with Pomphrey Hill at 10.30 πŸ™‚

  4. tykeinbrum permalink

    Great idea – thanks Rikki, but you seem to have missed Brueton/Cannon Hill and Brueton/Perry Hall!

    • Thanks! At the time I generated the list Brueton, Cannon Hill or Perry Hill must not have decided to be open. Now it’s updated and Brueton->Kingsbury, Brueton->Cannon Hill and Brueton->Berry Hill are now all there πŸ™‚ Check it out!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. New Year’s Day! | Jacqui Senn
  2. 5k : Top Tip for a PB | the5krunner
  3. What is the hardest parkrun | the5krunner
  4. Where are all the #parkrun 5k bloggers | the5krunner
  5. New Year’s Day 2015 parkrun double finder | Rikki Rants

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.