Skip to content

Seven Languages in Seven Weeks: The Beginning

Sun 6th January 2013

Over the years I have learned a number of programming languages, from the variations on BASIC that first got me into programming, through C for video game programming, over the ones taught on my degree and past the odd couple I’ve looked at for interest during my PhD and jobs.

I love programming languages, and fully appreciate the purpose of learning more than one. I often say to students, colleagues and just about anyone that will listen, that learning a second or even third programming language is one of the most important steps in learning to programming. Getting your head around the first one is great and very useful, but it is when you learn another that you begin to see patterns, commonalities and begin to understand what a programming language actually is.

However, I realise that the languages I’ve learned until now are mostly procedural or object-oriented, and it is becoming increasingly difficult to find the time to learn a new language, unless I have a very strong need for that specific language.

Seven Languages in Seven Weeks

That’s why I was excited to discover the existence of a book called Seven Languages in Seven Weeks. I decided to buy it as a birthday present for myself, and challenge myself to learn seven languages in seven weeks!

I read the introduction today, which sets out the philosophy behind the book and makes it clear that the book teaches the bits of each language needed to explain the unique aspects. It is not an installation guide, and does not teach everything about the languages: your friendly neighbourhood search engine can fill those gaps!

This week I plan to start the first chapter: Ruby! Having skimmed ahead, it appears to be broken down into three days, which seems vaguely achievable. My plan is to blog a review of the week and the language each week, so keep your eyes peeled for an update each weekend!

Leave a Reply

