Skip to content

Mobile phone fraud resolved

Sat 1st December 2012

…but shhh! it’s a secret…

On Thursday I blogged about O2 cutting me off from the network and failing to inform me of this in any way. To make it worse, when I did contact them they told me my SIM was faulty and made me waste my time going into town to get a new SIM and trying to activate it.

It turned out that my account was being handled by the Fraud Investigation Team, and therefore my account was clamped. What is most frustrating is that O2 never made any attempt to contact me (either by phone/text, e-mail, post or in My O2).

On Friday, I had to phone the Fraud Investigation Team to find out what was going on. I eventually managed to sit down long enough to make the phone call in the afternoon, at which point my phone was still not connecting to the O2 network. I got through to Liam (just “Liam”, apparently not a “guru” like everyone on the text chat) who seemed a bit surprised that anyone had bothered to phone him.

After explaining why I was calling, he asked for the mobile number of the account in question, and to presumably bring up some details. He then asked me why I was calling *sigh* I reiterated the problem, and he asked if I’d tried turning my phone off and on again. I thought we were back to basic technical support now, so informed him that I had tried that yesterday. It turns out he meant I should do that immediately, as they had somehow “resolved” the fraud investigation.

WELL HOW WAS I MEANT TO KNOW THAT, LIAM?

I kept Liam on the phone while I went through the painstaking process of switching a Nexus One off and on, and eventually found the network reconnected and a few text messages arrived. I made a phone call as well to ensure everything still functioned as expected.

During the phone boot up sequence, I quizzed Liam as to what had happened. Apparently an authorised person (so basically anyone other than me) had tried to order an iPhone 5 on a £46 a month contract on my account. I also mentioned that the e-mail address on My O2 had been changed to one that wasn’t mine. Liam assured me that all these details would be reset. As of Saturday night, the e-mail address and contract on My O2 are still incorrect.

I also asked Liam whether I should change my password. He said something along the lines of “yeah we’ll do all that for you”. Seriously, what is going on with security at O2? Why isn’t someone on top of this? Why aren’t I being told to change my password? Given that nothing on my account has been updated and I assume I am still vulnerable, I am hunting through the O2 website for a way to change my password. The links from the search results are all reporting session errors.

But maybe it’s fair to say it was a lack of communication

To be honest, I am fairly impressed that O2 caught this attempted scam of my account, and I must thank them publicly for that. It would have been much more hassle to fix this after O2 had signed me up to a £46 a month contract and delivered an iPhone 5 (although the address on My O2 hadn’t been changed, so I guess when they delivered that to me it would have been a giveaway).

However, I am utterly infuriated at the fact that O2 have kept me in the dark during this whole event. I do not understand why the Fraud Investigation Team did not contact me to explain why I was disconnected, and why they didn’t do something to let me know that I had been reconnected. The whole time I was sitting there like a lemon with no access to the phone network.

What now? Well, as I told Guru John J on the text chat, I will be leaving O2. I am concerned about the security of their website, but more than that I am frustrated at their inability to keep me informed. I predict I will run into some problems with my account details still indicating that I am the fraudulently obtained 24 month contract, so that’ll be fun to blog about later 🙂

From → Mobile Phones

2 Comments
  1. Liam permalink

    I like the BNL reference.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Replacing O2 « Rikki Rants

Leave a Reply

